Categories

More Information

Account Information

Jefferson Hayman: The New City, 36 Signed Platinum Prints, 4 of 17

Price:
$9,875
SKU:
ncjh

Description

The New City by Jefferson Hayman, Poems by MacLean Gander

21st Editions, 2009, 2 Volumes, Signed Deluxe Edition, 4 of 17 

17 Signed Original Hand Printed Platinum Prints

Two Signed Free-standing Prints

Includes a Separate Portfolio of 17 Signed Free Standing Prints

MINT Condition

History: In 2009, fine press photography book publisher 21st Editions released The New City. Limited to 53 copies worldwide, each of the hand-bound collection contains 19 signed original platinum prints (17 bound and two free-standing platinum prints that are suitable for framing). Each print is signed by Jefferson Hayman. The first 14 numbered editions (roman numerals) also contain a separate portfolio of 17 signed free-standing prints that appear in the book. Each edition is numbered and signed by the artist, the editor and the publisher. These copies, IV of XIV, were presented to Lance Speer, 21ST Editions Contributing Editor and Director of Marketing, upon completion of the project. The edition sold out shortly after release.

Details of the Books and Prints: From the publisher, “This book combines an epic poem of the American experience by MacLean Gander and the lyrical, contemporary photographs of Jefferson Hayman. Hayman is one of the great photographers of New York and brings to his vision a unique marriage of Symbolism’s dream-like quality and the New Objectivity’s clarity and precision. It is a way of seeing New York that no other photographer has captured, just as Gander, in the tradition of Whitman, Crane, and Ginsberg, gives us a fresh, new American epic of hope and reclamation.”

The book is hand-bound in brown cloth covers and printed in letterpress on handmade cotton rag paper and housed in a custom clamshell box. The book measures 14” x 9.75”. The free-standing platinum prints are housed in a folded, letterpress printed presentation folder. The book is signed and numbered by Jefferson Hayman, John Wood, and the publisher, Steven Albahari, on the limitation page. The portfolio of 17 signed free standing prints are housed in a separate custom clamshell box that matches the clamshell box with the book. A Letter of Provenance from Lance Speer is included.

Awards: 21ST Editions was awarded the prestigious Independent Publisher (IPPY) Book Award Gold Medal in 2009 for “Best Book Arts Craftsmanship” for its publication “The New City.”

Condition Report: The books, prints, and cases are all in PRISTINE condition.

Photographs of book, the signed free standing prints, and examples of the signed prints contained in the book and portfolio appear in the photo section of the listing.